The Platypus and Evolution

I frequently do research on pseudoscience. One day, I was looking around a young-earth creationist website called AnswersinGenesis.org, perhaps some of you have heard of it. Anyway, I was watching the leader, one Ken Ham, talk to little kids about how evolution is wrong because it contradicts the Bible, and the Bible is “the history book of the universe”. He then proceeded to show a picture of a platypus and said how evolution couldn’t have resulted in such a creature. I have already seen enough of creationist bullshit to disregard it, but not being a biologist, I am curious: how DID the platypus come about? I have read about the scientific consensus on the matter, but it was a very technical read. I was wondering if someone could break it down into somewhat less professional jargon so as to be easier understood. Thank you for your contributions. :smiley:

I would have thought that the platypus actually shows transitional features which support evolution: the female exudes milk, but not from a nipple, more like a sweat gland; the male has poison spikes, similar to poisonous reptiles; the young are born from eggs, like reptiles, but the animal is warm-blooded like other mammals, and so on.

But I’ll wait for someone who actually knows what they’re talking about to weigh in.