The SDMB community: how much does it mean to you/

Originally posted by iampunha

I hope you don’t mind me quoting you here, iampunha, but this kind of clarified some thoughts I’ve been having about the SDMB of late. I see threads like this (which is where iampunha’s post came from), I see that there are now in excess of 27,500 registered members and I think that’s amazing! I’m still a newbie, and not a prolific poster by any means, but I do feel part of this ‘community’. I haven’t been around long enough to be recognised, I know no one outside the boards at at all (even by email) but it seems that there is something unifying about coming here regularly!

I also have a question: how much more is this the case for the long-term and prolific posters? I can get a reasonable idea from this thread, but I’m still interested.

N.

You bet this place is important to me.
It’s the first sign of civilization in my day as I get on it before breakfast even.

I like to think of this place as my pub, and the posters as my Pubmates. I actually don’t go to bars, but the idea is the same.

This is a place where I can get the news, granted with a bit of a slant, but it’s better presented than CBS.
This si the place where I can catch up on gossip.
Where I can share what useless information is floating around in my brain. as well as pick a few other brains for info.
But most importantly, This is where I come to be amused.

With 27,500+ members, we really are like a small town.

Question…if someone gets banned, does the number of registered members drop by one?

Nope that’s one of the reason that it’s so big. Add to that the number of people that posted once or twice to CoCC and then left of the numerous socks that trolls created and you’ve got a much smaller number.

I’d reckon no more that 500-1000 active posters.

sigh I think I’m dyslexic when I type.