The Three 0s

Everyone is divided about when the millennium actually starts: 2000/2001.
That’s NOT the question here.

I haven’t really taken sides in that argument. I’m not really good with numbers.

The question is: Isn’t the whole “end of the world/armaggedon/Y2K/massive destruction” thing based on the “anceint people’s” fear of the number zero? So that would make 2000 the “panic year,” right?
Or did I just dream this up? Remember, this isn’t about when the new millennium starts. Any comments?

White Wolf

“Friends come and go, but enemies accumulate.”

No, it’s all based on the fact that any time a seemingly significant number rolls around, some people go crazy. Whether that number is a century or a millenium, people go nuts.

Let’s face it, some people are just plain stupid.

I agree with Surgoshan and bet Chinese and Jewish don’t go nuts when their calendars hit 2000, 4000, or 5000 or whatever the Chinese calendar runs to now.

It’s kinda like when the Dow Jones hit 10,000.
All those zeros rated headlines.

I think it’s because they look like breasts, actually. I mean, in a culture where breasts are taboo, anything resembling them will be celebrated, and when you have a whole lot of them lined up, well, even better!

the calendar of christian people has one thing incommon with all the calendars int the history of men, is that the first year is idenified with the number ‘1’. if you look at for example how the “authors” of the calendar wrote it (in latin) Anno Domini Nostri Jesu Christi 1, which means “first year of our lord jesus christ”. because of that the first century didnt end until the year 100 had ended.

in the year 1900 it was globally (where the christian calendar is used) accepted as a fact that the century didnt end until 1900/1901, although emperor Wilhelm(something like that) II didnt agree and decreed that it was supposed to be in the year 1899/1900.