"They don't know how to drive in snow"

I hear this a lot, but it seems to mean different things to different people.

1. I can get to where I’m going just as quickly in snow as I do when there’s none. I’m a skilled driver, I’m familiar with snow, and I’m prepared with snow tires or chains. If you’re going slowly it’s a sign you don’t know how to drive in snow.

2. I can get to where I’m going safely when it snows. I’ve got plenty of experience with snow. It may take longer, because I’m moving at 20mph instead of 45mph, but I never lose control of the vehicle. I’m prepared with snow tires or chains. People who drive too quickly in snow don’t know what they’re doing.

2A. Same as 2, but without snow tires.

1. When it snows, I just take the truck. It’s much easier to drive in snow when you have four-wheel drive. When all those clueless drivers in their sedans and compacts go off the road, I’m the one who pulls them out.

2. I’ve never driven in snow before, but I use good common sense.

I consider myself a 2A. To me, the bad-in-snow drivers are the ones going too quickly, and the ones who believe owning a truck doesn’t require them to have good driving skills.

How about you? What do you think good snow-driving skills are?

The times I’ve heard people say this they seemed to mean “those other people got in an accident, and I didn’t.” Or “they got stuck, and I didn’t.” And they don’t really provide much of an explanation.

Anybody who tells me that he knows how to drive in snow and therefore feels fine driving his normal speed in it is self-identifying as a clueless dick who leaves a trail of spun-out cars in his wake as people around him freak the fuck out because somebody’s driving the speed limit when there’s 4" of snow on the ground. “Hey, I’m not the one who got into an accident, so I must be driving safely” makes as much sense as “Hey, I’m not pulling the cat’s tail; I’m just holding it. The cat’s pulling.”