Things artist say about their work you don't believe

I was listening to Jethro Tull’s “Thick As A Brick” album today and was reminded that frontman and lyricist Ian Anderson has long denied that it’s a concept album. The odd thing is that when I read the lyrics I swear it’s a relatively straightforward song about how society and its wars harms a sensitive man, much in the vein of Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”. What things has an artist said about one of their works that make you say “I don’t believe that for a second”?

John Lennon’s contention that “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” was based on a drawing by one of his kids. It’s pretty clear it’s about an acid trip. (not to be an ass but don’t bother with a cite confirming the kid picture story)

Tolkien’s claim that his works have “no allegorical intentions …, moral, religious, or political…" Riiiiiiiight. And I’ve got a shiny new ring to sell you.

Thomas Kinkade: I am a serious artist.

Hahaha I came in to say this. I was just thinking about it the other night, for no apparent reason.

George Lucas says he had the prequel trilogy planned out from the get-go. Bullshit.

Are you saying you disbelieve John & Julian’s story, or that you think the song is about an acid trip despite the origin of its name? Because I think I can get behind the second.

Was it in So Long, and Thanks for all the Fish that Douglas Adams had Arthur Dent tell Fenny a story about some stranger eating cookies out of Arthur’s cookie package at some train station or something, and Arthur defiantly eating his own cookies out of the package to show the guy up? And then, it turns out that it wasn’t Arthur’s cookie package at all, but it belonged to the stranger who didn’t say a word about Arthur eating his cookies?

Douglas Adams claimed that it was a story that really happened to him.

Actually, the story is an urban legend descended from the similar story of the jogger’s stolen wallet.