Things you hate to hear at work?

me: twenty minutes on ribs for your lead ticket…
them: what ribs?
it can’t go well from there

The sound of the phone ringing at 4:57 PM on Friday afternoon. No one calls anyone at 4:57 PM on Friday afternoon unless they have the sort of problem that takes 2 hours to fix. I like to call that particular ring “The Death Ring.” It has a distinct sound.

“The District Office has a plan…”

:smack:

“Got a minute?”

Larry wants the report to read left to right instead of up and down.

“Well, I was listening to Dr. Laura/Dr. Phil/Miss Cleo and…”
(I’m a psychologist. I always feel like whipping out my trash can and saying, “Why don’t you just go ahead and empty your wallet into here? Thanks.”)

Can you meet me in Room 6?

You know you’re in trouble if you’re going to Room 6.

You have been selected for this opportunity.

“Oops.”

I have a customer who needs to speak to a manager.

These numbers do not balance, people, and NO ONE is going home until they do!!

I’m a technical writer, so the things I hate to hear are like the following:

“The Software Department made a change in how it works. What, they didn’t tell you? Well, it won’t be too difficult to go back and change all the manuals, will it?”

And a personal favourite–the results of a content review read something like, “Page 42, paragraph 2 is wrong.” And nothing to indicate what would be correct.

If the reviewer had mentioned what the paragraph should have said, I wouldn’t have to waste the time of both of us, tracking the reviewer down and nagging him or her for the answer.

Retail monkey checking in.

“Debit’s down.” Considering that approximately [sup]1[/sup]/[sub]3[/sub] of our daily sales come from debit cards, this is an issue.

“Are you a manager?”, with a sneer.

“How much fat is there exactly in this entire meal?” (usually in reference to enough food to feed a family of six that is to be eaten by two enormous people)