Thought provoking books?

I’m still kinda new to the straight dope board, but I have an important question…

my fiance decided to pre-order the new harry potter book from amazon.com
since I was on my laptop when she got home, we looked up the stuff and decided to order a couple other books also…Mostly because I haven’t read a good book for a few weeks (as I finished my last one)

So here it is, I’m looking for a good, thought-provoking book…any ideas?
The last book I read was great, it was called “Buddhism, Plain and Simple” and I’ve looked at a couple books by the Dali Llama (spell?) so if anything is in that vein, feel free to suggest it, but I am open to anything…

Brad

If you like fiction, Herman Hesse’s *Narcissus and Goldmund * affected me profoundly when I first read it. Also good is Hesse’s Siddhartha, which is a fictional account of the life of the Buddha.

Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything provoked my little thoughts so much I could only read it in spurts, but it was very well written and fascinating.

Oddly I have been transfixed by (of all things) The Economic Consequences of the Peace by John Keynes. How did one guy get so smart? I got it for free from some site, the copyright has expired.

How about Why People Believe Weird Things by Michael Shermer?

Dopers are voracious readers. If you want book suggestions on any subject, here is the place to find it.

Welcome to the Boards!

Oh, but the most useful book in any home is The Oxford Companion to Food. Sometimes you just have to know what penguin tastes like and there is only one authoritative source.

Really, get a copy.

The One I’m reading now is

The Disappearence of the Universe by Gary Renard
based somewhat A Course in Miracles, it really rattles the cage of traditional Christian theology. God didn’t create the Universe we did, etc.

I also enjoyed
**Jesus and Buddha; the parallel sayings ** by Jack Kornfield