Three Stray Cats in my Shed

I live in the middle of the city, in an apartment on the second floor of a house. I have a great big deck in the back, that even has a shed on it. Odd, yes, but there you go.

Three stray cats have taken up residence in the shed. It looks like one big one and two kittens. Of course I am not a cat person, I am in fact hideously allergic, so not only do I have no experience with cats whatsoever, but I can’t really even interact with them. If I could I would probably try to pick them up and play with them, or keep them, or take them to the shelter, or something.

I know I’m supposed to put out a saucer of milk, but I don’t buy milk. Do cats like soy milk?

Maybe I can pick up some cat food at the store.

Also I’m getting a dog soon. I wonder if they will all be able to get along.

I hope so. This is the closest I’ll ever get to being a cat person.

I don’t believe milk is a good idea. Fresh water and kibble seem to suit my feline just fine.

Except when we’re having dinner and she comes a’begging. I swear, she’s worse than the dog…
Do you know a cat person who might want your stowaways? Not me, mind you. One cat and one dog are quite enough for this household.

Now I see there are three kittens and a mamma. They are adorable. The kittens are dark grey striped and mom is light grey striped.

I put out some water and some cheese (all I’ve got in this vegetarian, pet-free home!) I do have some frozen salmon steaks, would they like those? When I approached they scattered, but mama approached and MEOW-ed at me. I assume from my dog experience that she is trying to keep me away from her kitties?

Man, they are cute. I almost want to keep them. From no cats to four. That might interfere with my dog plan.

I’m going to call my cat-person friend for advice, and to see if she wants another one.