“Tightness” in late 70s bands, and in general

I’ve heard a lot of people I respect say that the B52s were shit. For me, “Loveshack” is absolutely unbearable, but I enjoyed “Rock Lobster”, I thought it was up there with my favourite music. Then one time I realised it was only the end bit of “Rock Lobster” I really liked, the bit after 5:00 on the studio version.

Today, having listened to it again, I realise that even the last 2 minutes of the song don’t actually hold up against what I regard as the acme of they were trying to achieve; “I’m Not In Love” and “Stay Hungry” by Talking Heads, which came out in the same year, 1978. I think the difference might be what people refer to as “tightness”, but I’m not sure.

People say that Dr Feelgood were incredibly “tight” when performing live. I think I understand what that means, but I’m not certain. I’m not a musician at all but I can dance better than 98% of people, so when the drums, bass, lead, rhythm and vocals can confidently play complex rhythms together I really appreciate it. Is that what people mean by “tight”? Is that what’s missing with the B52s? And if the answer to that question is yes, then why couldn’t they at least fake it in the studio?

Also, did anyone see both Dr Feelgood and Talking Heads live? Were the Heads as “tight” as Feelgood?

“Tight” generally meant that the band worked well as a unit. They play the notes on time and in a way that sounds seemless, as though one individual was playing instead of multiple players.

That’s my understanding as well. It’s how well a band plays rather than whether the music is “good”. For example, I’m sure The Who were tight as hell. But their music was all shite. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Hmm. Some Feelgood lyrics are embarrassingly bad when you listen to them on the album but it seems they were very exciting live. I do actually like mid 60s Who, the impression I get of their live performances was that they were “loud” rather than “tight” :crazy_face: