Time In a Time-less Physics.

Okay, I’ll admit, I am a novice when it comes to the sciences, like physics for example. But I did study physics in high school. It was based on Newton and Einstein, with maybe a little quantum physics thrown it. And time was featured prominently in it.

Now I learn somewhat more recently that some people reject the concept of time. I just know I saw a story on tv a couple of years back where an amateur British physicist had a theory that there was no such thing as time, in physics at least (obviously, I don’t have a link for this). And I read sometimes on these boards that some of you believe this as well (there are many examples of this, so I won’t provide a link for this either).

So I guess my question is What happens to the variable of time in all the equations I had to study back in high school? Some people, for example, believe time is the fourth dimension. If there is no time, what then is the fourth dimension? Furthermore, consider concepts like Einstein’s theory of time dilation. The faster you go, the slower time moves. If there is no time, then what is moving slower? And there are probably many more examples I’m sure.

Again, this is from a novice who has a very simple view of the subject. But I still think I bring up some good questions.

Thank you in advance to all who reply:)

While I have seen a variety of different ways of dealing with time, some of them perhaps nonintuitive to a layman, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone proposing doing away with it altogether. Link?

(Bolding mine.)

I was afraid someone would ask for a link. Well, if you insist I could offer this one from my last thread. As you can see, if you scroll up a little, Jihi says:

(As you can see, we are talking about “Anti-time” from Star Trek: TNG to put this in its proper perspective.)

Sorry, that is all I can offer for now:)