Tingles :-)

Every now and then, when I’m listening to really powerful music (Beethoven’s Choral Symphony, Holst’s Jupiter, etcetera), and the music hits a climax, I get these tingles.

It’s kind of an all-over on the top of my skin event. Feels really good in a non-sexual, numinous sort of way.

Does this happen to anyone else? Does it only happen with classical music or other kinds? Is there a known cause for tingles? Am I just a genetic freak, happy with my strangeness?

Happens to me to, kind of like goose bumps all over. So far it’s only been with classical music, and I think that may be because most other music styles do not have that “climax” that produces the sensation. I recommend some Richard Strauss, if you want some tingles.

I’ve had that feeling with all different types of music. Not being a musician myself,
I like to think that this goose-bumpy, filled with admiration for the genius of the performer(s) - composer is god’s way of letting me in on the innermost workings of a mind like Bach’s - who could actually “hear” the composition being played as he was writing it. It’s when the music fills my very soul and carries me away into… what…
nirvana? Yes, I suppose that describes it. The music becomes my world and lets me connect with all the others who appreciate such beauty and grandeur as can be contained in sound waves wrought by mere humans.

Such events are increasingly rare in my world, but are one of the free things in life that make life worth living. The latest ocurred during my first listen to Peter Gabriel’s “Mercy Street.” I think it quite possibly the most beautiful work of popular music I’ve ever heard. Go figger.

It’s great that you are so “into” it! Don’t question it, just enjoy :)!

It’s not just you. You mentioned “Jupiter.” “The Planets” can affect me that way, too. This is what I love about music. I’d love to be able to write exciting music.