TMI: Period/birth control help

Seriously, not for dudes.

I have PCOS. I’ve never gotten my period on my own, so I’ve been on the pill since I was 13 or so. The BC Pill I take Lo/Ovral which is “a combination of ethinyl estradiol and norgestrel.” In 2011 my doctor gave me the OK to take the pill continuously and get my period every 3 months. That worked, I did that.

I’ve been lifting and doing cardio for about 3 years now, very regularly. In the first 2 years I wasn’t watching my diet so I didn’t lose weight, I just maintained (or gained!)

So in January 2012 I started with the diet and losing weight, and continues with the working out. I got my period in January, unplanned, but went on the placebos for a week and let myself uhm “bleed out.” Then for like 4 months, I had spotting every day. It sucked. My gyno said it was probably because the pharmacy switched generic brands of the Pill, so she got me back on the original generic, had me get my period a couple times, and all seemed well. But by then the year was up and I still hadn’t had a chance to see a pattern in my cycle.

Now this year I’ve finally figured it out…my period is coming every 3 weeks, despite me taking the pill (meaning I am taking the active pill, not the placebo, and I am getting it). If I continue to take the pill through what should be my period, I just spot bleed forever. This is what was going on all through 2012 - not affected by the generic switch.

If I go to the placebo for a week when I start bleeding at the beginning of my 3-week cycle, I end up having a normal period with full bleeding, then 2 weeks of not bleeding while taking the active pill, and then here comes my period again while taking the active pill.

This has happened 3 cycles in a row now.