To what extent did your parents' career(s) influence your career choice?

Did you stay in the family business/line of work? Did their choice convince you to do something else? Was it not a factor?

My dad worked in an office, my mom was a SAHM, and later a caterer. I worked for my dad part time in high school, and I knew I’d hate doing what he did. I joined the Navy on a whim and it eventually led to me becoming an engineer - something neither of my parents would ever have done. And after being home a while in retirement, I realized I’d have hated being a SAHM, too, altho I might not have realized it if I’d gone that route.

Sadly, in a way I pretty much followed their footsteps, I don’t work in an identical field but I work in a very related field. I really didn’t know what else to do careerwise. It isn’t bad though (my job has a lot of perks), but looking back it makes me realize I never really developed my own identity when it comes to making a living.

I’m a teacher, as was my mother, but so far as I can tell, the only direct influence is that I knew of the pitfalls going in, and was able to make an informed decision that they were worth it.

Indirect influence? Who knows.

Dad was an Army Officer. I never wanted to be one; too fat anyway. Plus the few days I did actually think of taking a forces scholarship to Uni, Dad kiboshed that.

Mum was a civil servant and later Professor. I have taught part time in University; so…
A Lawyer.

My dad was a “businessman” in his case a banker. I got my MBA and have been a “businessman” in my case a consultant and company executive. I was also dialing into the whole '80’s MBA/Banker/Consultant/VC crap. Sigh. The MadMen of the 80’s.

My dad went from job to job, and my mother was one of what we now call “the fucking helpless of the world.” She got married so she wouldn’t have to work.