Today I start as a volunteer firefighter

Should be interesting. I worked as an EMT back when rocks were still soft (88-91). Went to the local city college fire academy in 1993. Applied and tested at many departments back then but never made the cut.

Now that I am semi- retired and have little else to do other than putter around the property, figured I would do something useful. interviewed and was accepted!

Much as was mentioned in a previous thread, we are sorta paid. Its a point system based on level of participation. Supposedly averages about $200-300/mo.

If we do over a certain number of hours/calls we also qualify for a pension program. Im 53 so i dont expect to e doing this for long enough to build a meaningful pension, but every little bit helps.

Curious as to what the scope of a volunteer firefighter is, if you don’t mind me asking? Do you actually plunge yourself in the flaming infernos to rescue puppies? Or do the young guys do that and you just drive/operate the trucks? Or… something else?

Oh how interesting, @drachillix . Yes I’m curious as to what tasks you might be performing. I recently retired and on the surface of things, this sounds interesting.

Wonderful. This is the sort of civic participation that makes society stronger. Good for you.

good for you, but if there’s one thing that the narrative determinism of this world dictates, it is that on both your first day and last day on such a job there will be a catastrophe.

Here’s to a boring day!

There is really just one question: Do they have a Dalmatian?

If not, new guy must bring the pup.

mmm

Oh damn…you said the “B word”…

You know that word can pull airliners out of the sky don’t you…

-Prepares for it to land on my house-

This department has 3 primary categories of volunteer

Combat firefighter: plunges into inferno to save puppies. There are additional physical fitness/health criteria to have this status as SCBA use is part of the job.