Tolerance and Christianity

This evening I got a phone call from my mother. She informed me that our much-beloved minister, Reverend Anne, is leaving our (Methodist) church at the end of June. Why?

“It’s because half the church is angry about her because of gays. She thinks that we should get rid of them. I wish people would just take their hatred elsewhere. It’s not Christian.”

You said it, Mom.

My church is in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware. Rehoboth is known for several things- great beaches, being a family friendly town, and being a “family” (gay) friendly town. The gay community, especially in the summer months, is vibrant. There are two gay newspapers, one of which I am a writer for. Baltimore Avenue is the only place in Delaware where quietgirl and I would even consider holding hands in public.

Back to the church. In the early 80s, we had a minister who was remarkably tolerance towards homosexuality, all things considered. He was our minister for almost 15 years- an extremely long time for a Methodist minister. This is important because he was a fixture- he stayed so long that a lot of the church community couldn’t imagine itself without him.

In his time, he allowed several openly gay people to join the congregation. This caused discontent, but very few people left.

Then he moved, and all at once the trouble started. There were various interm ministers, and there was a small movement to “throw out the gays”. At the time, as a young teen struggling with my sexual orientation… well, it didn’t exactly make me feel loved. Especially since one of the heads of said movement was my great-aunt Misery.

At the same time, however, gay people were beginning to exhibit more and more of a presence in the church. Flash forward several years, and we now have a church where the minister is completely accepting, a great number of the congregation is as well, and many openly gay people are the most active members.