Trader Joe's Curry Simmer Sauce

I’ve been a fan of Trader Joe’s Curry Simmer Sauce for a long time. Just chop up some chicken thighs (or potatoes and carrots), add the sauce, and simmer it for a bit. I’m making some chicken curry and rice for breakfast right now.

I’d like to try other things though. I bought an Indian cookbook based on a recommendation here a while ago, but haven’t made anything from it yet. Haven’t had the time. So I was wondering if any of you have tried other pre-made curry sauces, which brands you like, where to get them, and how you like them compared to TJ’s.

I like the TJ’s stuff. I’ve also used products from Patak’s (usually available at larger grocery stores). It’s a paste that you can mix with yogurt, mincemeat or other things. A jar will spice many meals, as opposed to the simmer sauce. Both have good flavors. We use the simmer sauce from TJ’s for very quick meals.

I also make stuff from scratch, too. We probably have Indian food once a week, and almost always homemade.

Patak’s is my brand of choice. TJ’s tastes a bit “dumbed down” for my tastes. Patak’s has much stronger and assertive flavors, and tastes closer to what you might get at the curry house down the street.

Sounds exactly like what I’d like.

(Unfortunately there are no Indian restaurants down the street. One of the differences between here and L.A. :frowning: )

Do you mean “minced meat” in the British sense as ground beef, or like the stuff you put in pies at Xmas?

Like pies at Christmas. I was skeptical when I first heard it, but it actually tastes really good. About half a cup of minced meat (not the brandied kind) and three heaping spoonfuls of Patak’s with chicken and vegetables. Serve over rice. While not very authentic, it is very tasty.

I guess it’s not that different than chutney. Who’da thought.