Traveling full time (or a lot) for work?

I just went on a vacation. I really dislike the airport stuff- security, high priced food, etc. Also they changed my flights and both times we ended up in the dead last row of the plane.

If you travel by air full time for work or even a lot how do you deal with all that airport/travel crap? Are you really well paid? I might travel some for work if I got a giant pay raise - maybe 2x or 3x.

Is it worth it to be away from home so much? Guess it matters if you are single or have a family. Know a guy who traveled 100% but he was single at the time.

One of the faces of sexism is that in many companies, women (specially if married) are assumed to not want to travel, whereas men are expected to be willing to do any amount of traveling (regardless of family status). This does no favors either to women who are willing to travel or to men who would much rather not.

I’m one of those Airport Warriors; I’m a freelance IT consultant, my work is project-based and generally takes place in my end-client’s place of business, as part of a team managed by a consulting firm. 50yo, unmarried, no kids.

One big divide among us AWs is how much we like hotels: some people love them, others would rather be able to cook our own meals and not have some stranger making our bed daily. Generally, in Europe “hotels” do not have kitchens: if a kitchen is available and you get the usual services of a hotel (daily maid etc), it’s called an “aparthotel”. So, people like me generally try to get a rental (shared or individual) or an aparthotel, whereas those who like hotels stay in one.