Tricks to help your body adjust to crazy work schedules

I am in an unusual work schedule right now. I’m a bus driver, and every day I drive a different route/schedule (basically covering work vacated by senior drivers who are off/sick/on vacation). The people in my ‘class’ operate on a rotation, with an employee having a start/end time that is about 45-60 minutes earlier each day.

This process continues, getting progressively earlier, until I hit the ‘earliest’ schedule, in my case this is something like 3:30AM. The problem is once this happens, the rotation RESETS, so the day after I had to start work at 3:30AM I’ll have to start work in the afternoon! The problem is that if you wake up at, say 2AM, you’re probably going to want to go to sleep proportionally early as well; between 5-8PM. But that means you’ll get up rather early the following day, even though you won’t have to start work for another 12-14 hours :smack: and rather early into your shift you’ll start feeling tired.

This is an odd system, but I know a lot of people out there work jobs with erratic/long hours and I’m sure someone has some ideas as to ways to be able to endure this transition. I won’t have to deal with this ‘flip’ very often, but at the same time I don’t want to get blindsided with it and end up having to book off sick because I’m simply too exhausted to drive a bus safely.

The first time I worked third shift (well, the first time in over 20 years), from midnight to 8am, I had to drive 14 miles due east, straight into the sun, every morning on my way home. Couldn’t sleep after that. It would take me until noon or 1pm to get to sleep, then I’d sleep until 8-9pm. After a while, I liked this and it became something in the 1-2pm to 9-10pm range. Because it was similar to a regular work day in that I’d be up for hours after getting off work on one side, and on the other, I’d have only a relatively short period between getting up and leaving for work.