Tuning guitar strings upward

I’ve been playing guitar (a Standard Strat) for a few years and I’m thinking of playing around with alternate tunings. My question concerns tuning strings upward. I assume the guitar is designed for the strings to be tuned to the “standard” tuning, but that it has a certain tolerance for tighter tuning. How much tighter can the strings be before it starts to become bad for the guitar? If I tuned an E string up to an A, for example, would that be a problem at all on a solid body guitar with a vintage-style tremolo bridge?

Speaking purely from experience, I’d say avoid doing this as much as a possible. The higher strings will break, and the lower ones can put undue pressure on the neck of the guitar (I’ve had a wooden classical guitar snap on me before, when I’d inadvertantly tuned the whole thing up a third and left it for a few days). Most alternate tunings I know tend to go downwards anyway, so it shouldn’t be a huge problem to avoid.

Yeah, at best I’d be comfortable with a half step upwards. I do this whenever I change strings anyway to stretch 'em out a bit.

But all the most common altered tunings go down. Try:

Drop D
DADGAD (double drop D)
Open G
Open D
Open A
Open E

Alternately, try a Third Hand Capo. They’re fantastic.

http://thirdhandcapo.com

What they said.

I’ve heard about a lot of alternate tunings over the years, but in every case, involved tuning down. If you want to go up - use a capo.

I don’t know how much additional tension (beyond the factory-recommended strings at standard pitch) that type of guitar can stand. I think it’s safe to say, though, that the increase in pitch you’re asking about, especially if applied to most or all of the strings, would be enough to affect the relief of the neck, which would require a truss rod adjustment to rectify - if the neck didn’t break first. And I think it’s questionable that the strings themselves wouldn’t snap in trying to tighten them that much.