Turning tomatoes into sauce

I have some basic knowledge of cooking, mostly acquired during my nearly seven years cooking for a nursing home. That left some gaps though, due mainly to the limitations imposed by cooking for a bunch of old people with no teeth who hate spices. So anyway, I could use some help on this one. Zenster, you out there? Anyone else?

Should be pretty simple. I want to turn a bunch of tomatoes into really tasty spaghetti-type sauce, since I already own them and that’s pretty much the only way I’ll eat them. The tomatoes in question are currently residing in my freezer. It would be a large bonus if the final product is also freezable. Suggestions?

Thanks.
Lowell

I think Zenster is currently recovering from the BADs Super Bowl Party. I’ll step up to the plate and give you:

Basic Spaghetti Sauce ala pugluvr

3 tb olive oil
1/2 medium onion, chopped fine
3 garlic cloves, chopped fine
1 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 pound hamburger (or ground turkey, or ground lamb, or any combination thereof)
1/2 cup DRY white or red wine
2 quarts of tomatoes (it’s nice if they’re peeled and seeded, but if not, don’t sweat it)
1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
1 tablespoon Italian herb seasoning
1 tsp whole fennel seed
pinch curry powder
salt to taste

In a big skillet, saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil over medium high heat until they are translucent. Add the pepper flakes and saute a minute more, then add the ground meat(s) and saute, chopping the meat up, until the meat is cooked through. Then add the wine and let it come to a boil, add the tomatoes, mushrooms and the rest of the seasonings. Let it come to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer, partially covered and stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes. Serve over linguini with lots of real grated parmesan cheese (DON’T use the stuff out of the green can!). Chopped fresh basil is fabulous as a garnish. Lotsa chianti and garlic bread and a big green salad are recommended accompaniments.