Unassisted triple plays

Another thread on perfect games mentioned this site http://www.baseball-almanac.com/feats/feats8.shtml on unassisted triple plays. One example was

. Help me out with the rules here. It doesn’t say how many men were on what bases, but there was clearly a man on 1st. If you touch 2nd after fielding a batted fair ball the man on 1st is out on a force. So why did he have to tag the runner coming from 1st? And if he got someone out just by touching 2nd then it must have been the runner on 2nd going to 3rd who was caught off base on the caught liner.

Do I infer that the rules say you can’t get two men out at once just by touching the bag?

Liner…ball in the air. The batter is out. The runner from first could have returned to first. Therefore he had to be tagged.

:smack: Thanks. :smack:

All the MLB triple plays have occured in one of two ways:

Runners first & second, liner to second baseman, tag the runner going from first to second, finish off by stepping on second. A few times, the situation was slightly different, with the infielder touching second first and then tagging the runner coming from first to second.

Other scenerios are possible, but this is how it’s played out in history.

Quick correction (should have previewed):

I meant for the second example to be the more common one, with the play involved usually the shortstop.

Side note: in the history of professional baseball, there has been exactly one unassisted triple play by an outfielder. It was in the minor leagues (as pulykamell notes, every major league UTP was made by a second baseman or shortstop); and this was actually tangentially relevant to the play. The center fielder (sorry, can’t remember his name) was charging on what looked to be a bloop single; the runners at first & second decided nobody was going to get to it and took off. The center fielder not only made a spectacular diving catch, but turned the dive into a front handspring and ended up on his feet, still moving full speed toward second base. Like most minor leaguers, he wasn’t able to live on his baseball salary and had an off-season job. As a circus acrobat. :slight_smile: I presume the rest of the play is obvious …

Actually, there have been a couple by first basemen, too.. How 'bout that?

Damn! George Burns played professional baseball?

(Just kidding, I’m pretty sure it was ANOTHER George Burns).

Great link, p!

How about the (almost) quadruple play? Perfectly legal, too. It happened in Cuba, here described by Thomas Boswell, one of the great baseball writers of all time:

*The 4-out play, explained, becomes stunningly simple to baseball afficionados and stays forever unintelligble to the rest of humanity. Any Cuban school child, for instance, could explain it.

With the bases loaded, none out, tie game, Sanchez made a remarkable catch in right-center field. The runners on first and second ran on the line drive in the gap, and were trapped as Sanchez pegged to second and the relay was fired to first. Triple play: one flyball caught, two runners doubled up.

Meanwhile, however, the alert runner on third base had tagged up and crossed home plate before the final (third) out at first base. Since the final out was not a force out, the run counted.

Here, the play takes on what might be called The Cuban Dimension. The manager of Sanchez’ team appealed the runner tagging out at third, claiming that he had left the base a split second before the catch.

Few managers would know that such an appeal play could result in a legitimate fourth out, thus nullifying a vital run. Except, that is, in Cuba where even the hounds lying in the road would know.

In the confusion, one umpire signalled that fourth out, while the others upheld the run. Finally, the run was upheld, and it cost Sanchez’ team (Matanzas) the game, 3-2.*

While there is a valid “4th out” appeal play, it couldn’t have happened as told in the account above.

The triple play as described includes 3 force outs and therefore does end in a force play. The run would not have counted regardless of when the runner from third crossed home plate. Had one of the other runners tagged up but been caught before reaching the next base, then the manager would have the opportunity to use the 4th out appeal.

No, I’m not Cuban. I have, however seen the 4th out appeal successfully used in a Little League tournament.