Unlatched hoods on NYC taxicabs

Forgive me if this one has been done, but I couldn’t find a previous thread on this subject. Anyone have an idea why many of the taxis in New York are driven around with the hood unlatched (IOW, held down only by the safety catch)? Makes for faster pit stops? Hood randomly flying open adds to the excitement of driving in Manhattan?

Enquiring minds want to know.

Keep the car running cooler

That’s funny. I’ve been working in New York for 5 years now and this morning was the first time that I noticed this on a taxi. I was going to tell the driver that his hood isn’t closed, but then I figured keeping it open provides ventilation to the engine on a hot summer day.

The partially open hood gets out more engine heat.

Forgive me a taxi/hood-unlatched story. The forumn is just too perfect.

I drove a cab in Durham, NC the summers of '67 and '68. We latched our hoods. But the guy who checked my oil that day didn’t latch it fully. It may have been on the first hook.

I picked up a very elderly couple at a motel in Durham about 11:00 A.M. The guy had had heart surgery at Duke Hospital. They wanted to go to the Raleigh-Durham airport. I loaded their luggage and we took off. At that time, you drove on surface streets for a few miles, then got on a four-lane divided, 55 miles per hour road to the airport, which may have been a 10 mile trip.

We were cruising on the hiway, when my hood started to arise. It fluttered a bit, about 6-8 inches above a latched position, then dropped down as I slowed to 45 or so. I accelerated back to 55, and it started to dance upward again. I was worried, but couldn’t figure out just what to do.