UnuMondo, your stupidity amazes me

[standard disclaimer]Ok, this is a lame rant, but someone had to do it, and I couldn’t address this properly in the original thread[/standard disclaimer]

In this thread, Hermann Cheruscan has a good question about the EP-3 downing in 2001.

I do my best to give people the most accurate answers I can and to dispel some pretty strange rumors. I fly in these aircraft for a living. I know what they’re supposed to do, what they can do, and what they can’t do.

Enter the idiot UnuMondo with this misguided post:

**Now, the only thing remotely true is the idea of “cataloguing” radars. But the part about the linguist, the part about what they were or weren’t focused on, and the part about “lighting up” Chinese radars is complete bullshit. Due to classification reasons, I can’t discuss linguists or mission focus, but I can at least address your silly radar assertion. Are you seriously dumb enough to think the Navy would send a big, slow turboprop plane with 24 people on board to “light up” another country’s radar? WTF? Do you have any idea how dangerous this would be? Also, just so you know, a radar “lights up” or illuminates a target, not the other way around.

Anyway, what really bugs me is that he’s not asking about it… he’s throwing it out there like it’s an established fact in GQ.

An hour later he posts this gem:

What the hell is your problem with the U.S. conducting reconnaissance missions? What the fuck is so “dispicable” about what we do?

I hate to point this out to you, but most countries have some sort of armed force to protect its boundaries, people, and interests. Those armed forces need intelligence in order to function effectively. They need to know who and what to be concerned with, what type of threats they may face, what the enemy is doing, etc. Not just for hostile nations, but for nations which are suspected to one day be hostile. The EP-3 is one mechanism for obtaining that intelligence.