Up yours, Juniper MasterCard (BarclaysBank)

Nearly a year ago I got a Juniper Mastercard from BarclaysBank, with a $5,000 credit limit. I never used it very much- the most I ever owed them was $760.00. Early this week I got a letter that the credit limit had been reguced to $500.00, because of the ratio of credit balances owed to income and delinquencies.

Uh-oh, said I, time to get a copy of my credit report and see what is what. According to the report I was over 30 days late during the past year and a half on exactly one monthly payment out of all the revolving accounts, mortgage & car loans and so on. Yep, I remember being late on that one. No doubt about it.

BarclaysBank is within its rights to lower the credit limit. Here’s what makes them scumsucking pigs: a week or two prior to the lowering of my credit limit they sent blank checks (to be drawn on the credit account) to encourage me to spend more. It seems likely that if I had succumbed to temptation I would now , at the very least, owe them over-the-limit fees and Og only knows what else. If I had written a large check to a retaier and it got dishonored, some really nasty shit would’ve ensued.

I’ve known for a long time that credit card companies are evil. They are bloodsucking parasitical bastards who prey upon those who can least afford their depredations. They are boils on our collective ass. This case exemplifies a new low, however.

It’s fortunate I didn’t use any of those checks. I instantly (online) paid the $286 I still owed them and used their ‘customer service’ webpage to request the account be closed and to “please pass along to management a hearty up yours”.

I haven’t used my credit card in going on two years, and I canceled my Sears card last year. The credit card companies make money off you when you don’t pay in full, and I’d rather pay into my IRA or into my savings account rather than to a credit card company.