US Patent #6,368,227

The URL code chokes on something of this length, I’m afraid. You’ll need to cut-and-paste the entire thing.

http://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-Parser?Sect1=PTO1&Sect2=HITOFF&d=PALL&p=1&u=/netahtml/srchnum.htm&r=1&f=G&l=50&s1=‘6,368,227’.WKU.&OS=PN/6,368,227&RS=PN/6,368,227

I really have no good comment. The parents among you might want to start acquiring licenses for the patented technology.

Clickable version of the link: http://makeashorterlink.com/?U232141B.

The patent office opened quite a can of worms when it started allowing patents for processes and methods. I suspect the patentholder here registered it as a parody of the types of business methods that have been patented. I’m an attorney, but not a patent attorney, so I’m not very knowledgeable about this sort of thing. Maybe someone with a little more expertise could weigh in on whether this patent could stand up to challenges.

c&p no good, either.

I especially liked this from the very end:

Go here and paste 6,368,227 into the “Search” box.

:rolleyes:

The patent attorney filed the patent for his seven-year-old son.

It’s a joke. Laugh.

Of course, it’s also a joke with the full weight of US patent law behind it … which just makes it funnier.

I used to use the push-pull method of swinging when I was in elementary school, but that was for normal forward/backward motion. I’d reveal the details, but it’s a trade secret.

Damn, I wonder if I can patent walking. Perhaps breathing! That’d be great, I could collect a metric shitload of royalties from everyone, too!

Not me! Breathing is for earthlings!!!

my favorite part

I was certainly getting tired of the old ways!

Of course it’s a joke. IANAL of any type, but I’m sure that ‘prior art’ exists on videotape somewhere.

What I’m wondering about is the other patents referenced. The second one is for a method of hanging a door swing, but the first dates back to 1881. Anyone with access to the patents know what this one is?