Use a BlackBerry Storm as an ad-hoc hearing aid?

I’ve posted this question over at CrackBerry too. But you are my go-to guys.

My hearing is starting to go. I will need aids within a few years.

In the mean time, I was wondering if it might be possible to turn the storm into an ad-hoc hearing aid.

Let the mike pick up sounds, and then amplify them back out through the ear buds. For say, listening to TV so it does not need to be so loud (I know I listen to it louder than my wife likes it).

I’m a programmer, but have never developed anything for a PDA. I thought this might be an interesting exercise for me to get into mobile device programming. I’m thinking and hoping it could be done in .NET.

Is this even remotely possible?

A little bump… 172 views with out a response.

Does such and app look interesting to you? There must be some RIM/BB developers on the SDMB.

Perhaps my idea is without any merit. Or is simply not possible. Opinions are welcome.

Couldn’t you just place a call and set the phone next to the TV speaker while you sit back and adjust the volume on your Jabra bluetooth headset? :smiley:

I kinda like the concept.

A bit of searching through the iPhone App Store reveals the iHear Hearing Aid app ($.99), which basically does exactly what you’re talking about. I’d be tempted to buy it just for the novelty factor, but it only works with the regular iPod earbuds, since the iPhone headset’s microphone overrides the iPhone’s microphone.

A call to whom. Myself? I would much rather develope an app to do this.

As much as I hate blue tooth ear buds, I think that something like this might help me untill I get hearing aids. Something like this (if it could work) would have been a great help to me at my FIL’s funaral last week. At dinner perhaps, in a noisy room if I could just set the phone in front of my Wife or at the middle of the table, I think I could pick up more. Loosing your hearing is nothing to joke about.