Using the wrong motor oil - dangers

So I’ve been driving a 1999 Ford Contour for the last 3+ months. The car was given to me after my previous car died.

While driving home from work a few days ago, I took a corner and saw my Oil light flash on, then back off again. It did this each time I rounded a corner. Well crap, I guessed that meant that I was very low on oil, but not completely out. I pulled into a grocery store parking lot and shut off the engine.

From my trunk, I retrieved the two quarts of 10w30 motor oil that I had salvaged from the trunk of my old car before sending it to the junkyard, and dumped them into my engine. Then I went into the store and bought a couple more quarts of 10w30 and added them as well. After that, my dipstick showed my oil was full.

The potential problem is that I don’t know if 10w30 is the correct oil for the Contour’s engine. There was no owner’s manual in the glove box. Given that I was apparently nearly out of oil, I figured “emergency situation” and “any oil is better than no oil” (though, granted, I knew better than to put HD30 in there).

On the off chance that my engine actually calls for 10w40, am I seriously endangering the engine by running with 10w30 in there? I know most modern 4-cylinder engines use 10w30 (my previous car was a 1992 Merc Topaz with a 4-banger, and my two previous cars were a 1989 Honda Accord and a 1986 Chevy Cavalier; all three used 10w30), but the Contour appears to have a 6-cylinder engine, and not being a mechanic, I don’t know how much difference that makes. Granted, it may be a 4-cylinder; I haven’t had time to thoroughly investigate.

From the owner’s manual for your car

So it calls for 5W-30, not 10W-40. Unless it is super cold, the difference between 5W and 10W are moot.