Vegatarian Lasagna

A friend of mine sent me an email a few days ago with some recipes on it including a pretty bare bones vegetarian lasagna that included zucchini and not much else so when I went to the store today, I bought a few other things to add to it but am not sure how to incorporate them into the dish as I’m a novice cook and they’re frozen, not fresh.

How would I go about including frozen spinach and broccoli florets? Do I need to let them thaw first? Cook them first and then add them to the dish? And her recipe did not mention anything about precooking the lasagna noodles. Was that an oversight or do they really not need to be cooked first?

Thanks.

There’s at least one variety which doesn’t need to be cooked first and will say so on the box.

If you do go with noodles you have to boil first, separate them from each other with wax paper when you take them out of the pot or else you’ll have a great big clump of pasta that won’t separate without tearing by the time you’re ready to put them in the pan for baking.

Let them thaw first, in a colander or strainer. The spinach will definitely need to strained because it holds a lot of water that will ruin your finished product.

Presuming that this is a lasagne with a standard ricotta/mozzarella cheese mixture, I’d suggest mixing the spinach into the cheese mixture and just considering it an enhancement to the cheese layer.

As for the broccoli, that’s a harder one. I’d probably chop it very fine and add it into the cheese mixture as well. Same with some halved matchsticks of carrot. But if the zucchini is to be left large – I usually see it in such recipes sliced lengthwise and layered with the noodles – know that its taste is going to dominate the taste of any other vegetable in the dish. If it’s supposed to be chopped up and layered in much as meat would in a traditional recipe, then just cut the broccoli and layer it in with the zucchini.