Vegetables are boring

Help!

I need to increase the quantity of fruits and vegetables in my meat-and-potato diet. I’m perfectly willing to do this except that I find most vegetables, especially canned vegetables, B-O-R-I-N-G. In the absence of interesting flavor I usually drench them in butter, which largely defeats the purpose in eating the darn things in the first place.

I’m looking for suggestions for exciting vegetable dishes.

A few ground rules:

1. I have access to a good produce market, but not all the time. So while I want recipes for fresh vegetables, recipes that include canned or frozen veggies are particularly welcome.

2. I have to do the cooking. I don’t mind slicing and dicing and relatively simple preparation (I can blanch and/or saute) but I’m no expert at fancy sauces. And preparation/coooking time should be reasonable – I’m not going to make anything I have to start the day before, for example.

3. Hi Opal!

4. I’m not looking (necessarily) for vegetarian dishes. If your recipe includes a little meat send it along. If it includes a little tofu – well, think twice.

5. Soups and stews are great. Dishes utilizing beans (white, black, kidney, etc.) are great. These dishes can violate the day before rule (see 2) as long as they don’t need constant attention.

6. No brussels (sp?) sprouts or cauliflower. Broccoli is fine. Celery is a plus.

I know the Teeming Millions are eager to share their culinary successes, I’ve seen it before. So thanks one and all, in advance.

Pluto, the reason you don’t like canned vegetables is that canned vegetables, with the exception of tomatoes and beans (which aren’t really vegetables anyways), are evil devil-spawn.

That said, there’s a million ways to cook fresh veggies & make 'em taste good. Here’s a couple:

Beans -n- Rice: