Video Game AI: Shooters vs. RTS

I waste a huge chunk of time better spent elsewhere on playing first person shooters and real time strategy games. I’m always amazed when I hear the accolades about the AI in FPS games like Half-Life and Halo. Such accolades often include:

1. The enemy will attempt to flush you out with grenades!

2. The enemy will actually use cover!

3. The enemy will attempt to flank you!

While I’m not a programmer, I don’t see how these feats are particularly impressive and I don’t find their execution to be particularly impressive either. Isn’t this just a basic pathfinding algorithm?
Then I play a game like C&C:Generals or Rise of Nations and wonder how the hell they come up with making an AI for these games. Not only is the concept complex, but the execution is often surprisingly good. Pathfinding seems like the least of the feats the AI can accomplish in an RTS.
I find the gap in AI between FPS and RTS games particularly perplexing because from chess I know that computers are generally better at tactical vs. strategic algorithms.
I know that the heart and soul of an RTS is the AI so that’s where a significant percentage of resources would go, but it still seems like there is an odd disparity. A Turing test of an RTS ten years ago would seem to equal that of the best FPS AI today. Why?

I think one problem is that you’re comparing virtual humans (FPSs) to virtual machinery/vehicles (C&C). We deal with humans on a day-to-day basis, and thus are aware of their intricacies, if something even slightly seems off, we’ll catch it (whether it be AI based or graphics based). On the other hand, we have simulated machinery which I believe we’re a lot more willing to forgive, as opposed to simulated humans. For instance, if a tank collided with a wall, I strongly doubt you’d bat an eye, however, if a human did the same it would look utterly ridiculous. It’s all about the perception.