Web-design help

I am kind of new to web-design and I was wondering how one might change the contents of a cell in a table or an entire table by clicking on a hyper-link, that is, without having to reload the page. I have 56k so I know how bad it sucks to wait for a whole page to load when all you want is a tiny bit of information. Thanks for your help. Hope I adequately explained myself.

No, you haven’t explained yourself. :slight_smile:

Rather than attempt to technically explain it, why not explain it as an ordinary web user. In short what do you want a web user to be able to do?

He wants to be able to click a link and have just part of a page change.

You can do that using frames. Lissa Explains is a great website explaining html for kids, but it’s useful for adults, too. Very simple terms.

When I hit one of those underlined dealies that takes me to other parts of the web, I want a portion of a page, not the whole page to change to show new information. For instance, if I have my phone number in a cell of a table and I want to easily change it to my address, I don’t want to have to wait for another page to load.

thanks for you help!

Also, I don’t particularly like the look of frames. The scroll bar that is… I don’t care for how it seperates parts of pages. Maybe I just want to find a way to hide the scroll bar.

Flash is probably one way; Java is another. I wouldn’t touch frames at all.

However, your self-admission to be a newbie indicates you want to run before you can walk. Better develop some experience in basic HTML and creating ordinary web pages before tackling more intermediate and advanced features.

You may get away with using an IFrame, and there are ways of getting rid of the scrollbar at the cost of accessiblity. But I don’t think you can do it at all without also incorporating some JavaScript. Are you ready to take that plunge? :wink:

Something like this might help.