Well, I'm REALLY Screwed

As you may remember from this thread , I found myself in a bit of trouble.

The news came back today: underage consumption, which means $318 and 90 days of license suspension.

I had already talked to my parents, so they weren’t furious. The youngest one of us didn’t get anything in the mail, apparently his was so low the officer didn’t bother to file a charge on him. Tomorrow I’m going before the magistrate to plead not guilty. He was my sister’s pole vault coach and apparently is a friend of the family. This is good. However, according to an officer at the station (my mom called today), he cannot reduce the charge to disorderly conduct. This is bad.

I don’t even care about losing my license as long as I’m away at school where I won’t need to drive. I just need to have my license for the summer so I don’t lose my job at Lowe’s (a whole thread unto itself). The father of one of the girls I graduated with is a lawyer, so tomorrow we’re going to talk to him to see if there is something we can get the charges dismissed for. I’m thinking so far that not calling our parents will be a big thing. The officer my mom talked to on the phone (a real hardass who once gave her a ticket that was thrown out as meritless) told her that the officer who cited us shouldn’t have even used the PBT since we weren’t driving. Hopefully the lawyer will be able to shed some light on the situation.

Goddamn. I didn’t drink in high school OR college. I was the president of SADD! The one day I have a few drinks (aka less than 3) and it bites me in the ass. I know its my fault and all–I feel horrible.

License suspension? For NOT driving when inebriated? What the hell kind of country are you living in?

The United States of Zero Tolerance

Bad luck Poogas, I have to say I dont understand how it can be even remotely possible for them to take your licence away when you werent driving. Thats really strange!