Whale Wars 2012

I’ve been watching for a thread on this season and haven’t been able to find one, so here it is. I won’t post anything about tonight’s episode until the bottom of this post.

It seems to me that the season thus far has been more snakebit than usual. The Japanese tactic of shadowing the SS ships seems pretty effective and the SS tactics are directed more to losing their tails than harassing the whalers so far. I suppose it could be argued that the ships serving as tails aren’t out whaling.

The SS also seem to have refined their entanglement tactic and we’re seeing more successes with getting the things into the Japanese props. On the other hand, they don’t seem all that effective even when they do go under the ships.

Possible spoilers:

A new tactic for disabling the Japanese engines was attempted tonight. I’m no expert on these things, but I don’t think those were cooling intakes that the raiders targeted. They looked more like bilge discharges to me. I’d like to know the story about some of the crew comings and goings. I understand a couple - people who had been in situations that were probably a lot scarier than they had expected. The captain’s meeting with the crew before leaving port was interesting too. An explanation was given later for not using any members of the existing crew for the exercise he proposed, but I wonder if the apparent lack of volunteers was the real reason for going to plan B. I was also disturbed anew by the decision to blow off so many safety considerations.

So is anybody else watching?

I’ve watched portions of these shows. I don’t like the whale hunting, but I think the captain, Paul Watson, is a show boating, publicity hound that would send his own grandmother to certain death with one of his stunts, if he thought he could get some free publicity. Why doesn’t he send his own fat, entitled ass on one of these exercises?

On those rare occasions where I stumble on the show I root for the whalers.