What are some causes of and solutions to lower back pain, stiffness, etc.?

Have recently noticed that my lower back is twinging when standing up or sitting down, and is mildly sore all the time. It doesn’t hurt much, and I’d like to keep it that way. What can I do or avoid doing to get rid of this?

See a good chiropractor and have him/her give you some advice. Sometimes it’s as easy as not slouching in chairs. Be sure to go to someone with a good reputation-- there are a lot of quacks out there.

The human mind. Do a search on Dr. Ron Sarno.

I meant Dr. John Sarno.

I had that same problem, and fixed it with Dr. Scholl’s Dynastep Sport Insert. I put them in my shoes, and my back stopped bothering me.

YMMV, I’m not a doctor, etc.

Bad advice, IMHO. These guys are addictive, as in the more they manipulate your back (and bank account), the more often you go back. I’m finally and thankfully free of these quacks (all SDMB chiros excepted of course, as I’m sure they are all reputable and responsible practicians).

There is an excellent video out there called “Say Goodbye To Back Pain”, which was put out in 1989. It’s a six week program of gentle to moderate back exercises and breathing exercises that will help you a lot. Read the reviews here. Note that the video has an overall 5-star rating.

I agree with Chefguy. For I have been there and done that… chiropractors could ease my pain for a few hours but it always came back. The ones I went to will “treat” you forever! As long as your insurance pays.

I finally went to an MD and he sent me for Physical Therapy… after a few weeks I was OK. Today I continue what the PT taught me. That has been 13 years ago. I also fast walk about 4 miles a day.

How long have you been smoking?

You might need to do some stretching. When mine flares up it is because of the muscles getting tight. There are a lot of stretching excersises that one can do to remedy this situation. Also a good abdominal workout will help with a bad back.