What are the exact medical causes for clinical depression?

My Philosophy professor refuses to believe me when I tell him how clinical depression affects people. This was brought up when we were talking about “brain” v “mind”, and I pointed out that chemicals cause emotions. As proof of this, I pointed out that people with severe clinical depression often do not feel anything (barring a deep sense of despair or hopelessness), including love, because of chemical imbalances. And that while therapy helps people deal with the effects of the depression, it doesn’t really cure the cause (chemical imbalances).
He insists that “human beings will never stop feeling.”
I think this is bull.
Now, I could use my own personal example, but that’s not very scientific, so I thought I’d gather more information. Especially since I’m not a doctor, I’m just a college freshman, so what do I know?

Also, he wants to know why clinical depression is not “universal”, if it’s “really” a malfunction of the brain. After I picked my jaw up off of the floor, I pointed out that he is more likely than I to develop Sickle Cell Anema, (he’s black) that doesn’t mean the disease does not exist.
I don’t know if clinical depresion is Universal…but seeing as how the disease is hereditary, it stands to reason that certain cultures are more susceptible to it than others. For example, if one person 400 years ago developed Clinical Depression, and it didn’t kill him, and he went on to have 10 children, all of which have it, and they each went on to have 10 children (all of which have it), and all of them move to The New World, and it just continued like it would only take a few hundred years before a sizable portion of the population is affected. But anyway, that’s just speculation, as I really don’t know anythig for sure.

Hmm. Depression might be a positive factor for reproduction. After all, if one’s feeling upset…