What are the odds?

I’ve been working at this job for almost three years now. Every year we have a Christmas gift exchange where we pull a name from a hat and secretly get a gift for that person.

There is a tasty young blonde named Heather that works in the office. A True Babe. The first Christmas I was here, I pulled her name. What are the odds, I ask you?

The second year, I pulled her name again. Everyone was amazed and astonished at the blind luck of it all. Surely this was beyond coincidence. The odds must be one in a million! Or one in twenty, whichever. Of course, everyone joked about what would happen if I pulled her name a third time. HA HA! Wouldn’t that be a scream! The odds of that happening would be one in thirty. Million!

Today we did the drawing for this year. Before I drew, people joked “What if you get Heather again? HA HA!”

So I drew a name from the hat.

Honestly, people, do you just fill the hat with one name? :dubious:

Hate to tell you this, but the odds on drawing her name for a third time, after having drawn it twice, are…1 in 20!!!

Only if ten more people are invited.

You pick for Christmas gifts in July? :confused:

I’m not really sure about the logic of that myself. I think it has something to do with restaurant reservations. Because as you know, December tables are filled by late August.

Or something.

Only 155* more shopping days until Christmas!

*I think… there are 162 days left and Christmas is 7 days before the end of the year, but I’m not sure how shopping days are calculated…

The way I shop, there are three shopping days left. They begin on December 22nd.

Picking out names 5 months in advance seems weird. How does the company deal with anyone who gets hired or leaves between now and December?

Anyhoo, I think I am missing something as I can’t see what good it is to keep drawing the same person’s name. (Babe or not.)