What Are the Restrictions on Limiting Collective Bargaining?

In the GD thread Will Wisconsin’s anti-union bill pass constitutional muster? Is it a good idea?, Snowboarder Bo asks a good question about whether the Wisconsin bill “that would strip government workers, including school teachers, of nearly all collective bargaining rights” is constitutionally sound. I assume that means whether controlling Supreme Court decisions make the ability to collectively bargain a guaranteed right that legislatures cannot strip.

The thread almost immediately went off the deep end into the usual yo’ momma partisan badmouthing about whether unions and taxes are wrong. That’s why I’m re-asking this in GQ, where I hope that there will be none of that.

Just the facts, ma’am, and the law. What have courts said on this subject?

From the other thread I was looking into this.

I am not an expert by any means. Also, IANAL of any sort.

So, this is just my minor Google Research and not even a whole lot of that.

The laws relating to this are both Federal and state. As such you can have 50 different answers.

At the Federal level it seems the National Labor Relations Act governs most of this. Obviously that would trump state law if they disagree.

Make of that what you will.

My (admittedly limited) research on this suggests it gets complex really fast beyond the above broad outline.

is it constitutionally? I think it will be. Government workers are not covered by the NLRB. They are mostly covered by state laws, so there would be no federal labor laws VS state labor laws.

Honestly I do not know.

President Reagan famously smashed the Air Traffic Controllers union.

Police and firemen are not allowed to strike.

That is just the “easy” stuff (obviously if police could strike they could hold a whole city hostage).

Like I said, it gets complex fast.

Excuse me if this is a hijack but… are school teachers clearly state government workers and why?