What are the upper limits of being 'big boned'?

Is there a point when you can no longer be considered ‘big boned’ and are simply obese or ‘fat’?

Does being ‘big boned’ even exist in the medical world or is it just an excuse?

I’d ask Denis Leary.

I am not a doctor so I am not qualified to say whether or not it is a medical term, but I would doubt it.
Yes, some people have a larger skeleton than others.
Look at Courtenay Cox and look at Venus William. I think we can safely say that Venus Williams has bigger bones than Courtenay Cox.

Are either of them anything remotely like fat? Err, no, not even the woman with the bigger bones.

I reckon it doesn’t matter how big your bones are, it’s how well covered they are with tissue *which isn’t * muscle which makes you fat.
So a titchy tiny woman with size 3 feet can be fat, and her bones must be small And a 6 foot woman with size eleven feet can be as thin as a lat, despite having bigger bones.

I saw an immense woman get on the subway the other day. From the angles of her legs when she walked, it looks like there’s no way the ball-and-socket joints at the top of her femurs were 16 or 18 inches apart and that a few hundred pounds of excess fat hanging on her frame was responsible for her butt being three feet wide. I mean, she would have been a widebodied woman even if you’d taken away everything but the skeleton, unless it’s a compelling optical illusion.

Do people’s skeletons widen in response to them carrying excess weight, or are they just born with the genes to have big wide frames? I don’t know. Been wondering that myself.

Not a doctor,but every test I’ve ever known to determine “big boned”,ie,the width of your bones,is the wrist measurement.7 1/4" to 7 1/2" is average.According to one site 8" is xlarge.

One problem with this is an obese person may be carrying enough fat in their wrist to claim “bigboned”
(The wrist is basically all bone)