What are the Urban Legends in your profession?

We soldiers have many. Ask me about the guy who got a profile requiring him to masturbate at least ten times a day or risk non-judicial punishment. I can also tell you about the FOAF who tried to kill himself with a floor buffer, but instead was charged for the cost of the floor buffer. How about the soldier who was reduced in rank for getting a sunburn. There is also my favorite story to share about the guy who was discharged for a mental disorder for dribbling a basketball.

We Soldiers have many UL’s. What are some from the other occupations?

Sgt Schwartz

I work in tech support. We don’t have urban legends. Nothing anyone could make up could ever match reality.

I always used to hear about the Doc Drawer who got fired because the mortgage papers they drew up had a 0% interest rate on them, and once the borrowers signed, there was nothing the bank could do about it.

Oh come on, Priceguy, the optional cupholder on the computer can’t be true, but you must have heard it. Tech support probibly have some of the best UL’s IMO.

Sgt Schwartz

The cup holder one definitely counts as a UL. Remember they don’t have to be false to be ULs!

[EDIT]Snap!

I came in here to post that one. Also, the one where the tech support guy tells the user to box the computer back up and return it because they are too stupid to own one.

I had one come in that I’m sure people would think I was making it up, so I printed out the original request:

“User needs a wireless cable in conference room XX immediately”

I completely believe that one.