What can I expect for my first Triathlon?

So I’ve been running for a few years and have a bunch of 1/2 and 1 full marathon under my belt. I live in Melbourne FL now and decided doing some tri’s would be more fun than just running. I signed up for a Sprint mainly due to my horrible swimming skills and the short time to prepare (Battle of the Bridges 8 Oct)

So I ran out and got myself a decent road bike (Terk) and have really just started swimming about 3 weeks ago. I’m not concerned about the bike or run portion of the tri as I know I can power through those no matter what happens but I’m concerned about the swim. I’m really just now beginning to master freestyle swimming where I can properly stroke, breath, and keep my heart under 1M bpm.

So the swim is 1/4mi, bike 12mi, 3mi run.

Any tips or advice for a first timer? I’m planning to pretty much ignore my times and focus on becoming familiar with the transitions and various etiquette etc… I’m going to try to get in a couple of open water swims before then if I can.

Is there any bike or swim etiquette I should be aware of? Any tips on surviving the mob at the beginning when we hit the water?

Experiences?

Stay out of the crowd even if it means swimming a bit wide (Getting swum over and kicked by those who swam for swim teams in their youth is a real problem.). Try to swim straight. (I am absolutely sure that my first tri swim was three times as long as it was supposed to be as a result of the sawtooth pattern I inadvertently swam.) Train for efficiency not speed. (Not that I ever succeeded in getting to either.)

Defnitely get in some open-water swims. There will not be a black line to follow, and no wall to push off of. In fact you will likely not be able to see the bottom. Start in the back of the pack - let the crowd go in first. Otherwise, you will get kicked and smacked around. Not fun.

On the bike, you may not be allowed to draft - check the event rules.

Good luck!