What can one do with a political science degree?

Hello all. The title pretty much says it all.

A little background.

I am about to start my freshman year at Mississippi State, and am currently signed up as having a major in Finance, which is, to me, interesting enough. If I were to change my major to political science, what would change? My freshman core clases for the fall semester would not change, but what about future jobs, pay, etc?

Thanks in advance.

I have a degree in political science as well as a degree in economics. I’ve spent 5 years in standardized testing. Now, I just got a job working for a brokerage firm.

Poli sci kinda falls under the general heading of liberal arts, which tend not to be training for a specific job category. It’ll let you do anything that a general college degree will.

You can do anything with any liberal arts type major. I work in IT consulting and am a behavioral neuroscience dropout from an Ivy League Ph.D. program. My project manager has a degree in criminal justice. My two direct coworkers have degrees in music and political science. I am not reporting anything very anecdotal. It is actually more typical.

The stereotypical jobs for political science graduates would be law school, some form of political journalism, or working on campaigns. Just to let you know, there is a huge block in the U.S. between people that have undergraduate degrees and those that do not. However, the specific specialty of degree doesn’t matter much when you are talking about the menu of liberal arts degrees. It does matter for things like engineering jobs and there are specific requirements for medical schools. Other than that, a generic undergraduate degree allows you to open your world to lots of opportunities.

I think Shag hit the nail on the head.

I’m a candidate for December graduation; English major, double minors in religion and psychology. Some of my friends from the English program have gone on to:

Medical school
Law school