What careers does language training offer?

I am a music teacher, however I am interesting in expanding my teaching abilities. I am very interested in languages, and I would like to teach abroad. I assumed that learning many languages would give me a stronger ability to travel and teach in other countries. I am also interested in the other possibilities of language training. What careers are available?

This all greatly depends on the language you want to learn.

Presumably I’m going to build a career out of knowing Spanish. Currently, with my bachelors, I’m applying for customer service jobs and non-profits. Eventually I plan to be a professor of Spanish/Latin American studies, ideally with a focus on immigration, but that will require a Ph.D.

Specifically, with regards to teaching abroad-- nowadays you can get a gig teaching English abroad without knowing much of the language at all, though I would highly recommend it, as it would give depth to the experience. I’ve got a friend who has lived in Japan for four years teaching English. He originally signed on for two but he loved it so much, he signed another contract. I’m not sure he’ll ever be coming back! Trust me–you will NOT have a problem finding a job like that. English is in very high demand all over.

If you’re into service-oriented things, there are plenty of needs to be filled here in the states for helping out immigrants and the like. Health services, labor organizations, English as a second language volunteers, etc.

And then there’s business. Languages are highly valued in today’s business world, but hopefully a more knowledgeable Doper can fill you in on that, because I know very little about business. Broadly I would say, if you want career options, make sure you choose the right language, because some languages are not in as high demand as others (speaking fluent Mixtec, while infinitely cool, will not necessarily land you a job for a major corporation.)