What cellphone plan should I get?

I’m considering getting myself a cellphone or two (one for the lady) and I have no experience with carriers and plans here in the U.S. Since there is no right plan for everybody, let me tell you what things i’m looking for or in a plan:

Things I don’t care about:

-The phone itself. I don’t need a color screen, fancy ringtones, cameras, mp3 support and the like.

-Weekend/night minutes. I’m not going to use it more heavily during weekends or after hours.

-GPRS, WAP and all that internet connectivity stuff. I’m just going to use it to talk, store phone numbers and maybe send an sms or two every year.

-That nextel walkie-talkie feature. I’ll only get that when I want to become annoying. :wink:

-Great coverage. Average coverage will do just fine. Did you notice how average rhymes with coverage? Nifty!

Things I care about (in this order):

-The monthly fee. The lower the better (as opposed to ALL those folks who want high fees)

-Duration of the contract. The shorter the better.

-Pc connectivity. I’d like to backup my phonebook once in a while. If I can do that without buying extra accessories, it’d be nice.

-Decent amount of “free” minutes. I’m probably going to use the cell less than the average user though so I don’t need all that much.
So what do you think I should go with?

If it’s a phone that you’re not going to use much, I’d seriously look into a prepaid plan. I’ve got the Virgin flavor of such a plan, and I’m a big fan of it. I have to put $20 on the phone every three months, giving me a monthly fee of ~$7 to have a cell phone, which can’t be beat (unless you use the phone a lot, which would drive up your per minute costs).

Here’s why I got it:
–I didn’t want another monthly charge of like $35 to have a cell phone. I wanted one basically for emergencies only - it’s not like this was going to become my primary phone or one that I used with any sort of frequency at all.