What did I hear?

I was sitting in church (very quiet) and I heard I sound similar to someone bringing a very high pitched tuning fork to my ear. The sound stayed for about 5 seconds then slowly diminished as if someone was pulling the tuning fork away.
Hear are my questions.
Was I hearing a cell phone? radio station? satellite transmission? other?
Could other people around me hear the same?
Are we constantly hearing such high frequency transmissions such that there is no such thing as “quiet” anywhere on the planet? Do we know what quiet sounds like anymore?

Well, I’m not a doctor, but I’m pretty sure that was transient tinnitus and not an outside sound at all. It’s very common.

This happens in my church sometimes as well. I’m pretty sure the noise is just someone’s hearing aid reacting with the PA system.

Another vote for tinnitus.

This was not an outside sound. This was a high frequency ping that was not part of any PA system.

I read about tinnitus and it sounds about right but I’m still not convinced.
Is everyone simply discounting some outside source? Is it not possible to hear high frequency sounds such as radiowaves under some circumstances?
I can clearly remember in grade 5, three of us would play games with a high pitched noise we were hearing. We could all hear it and we would laugh together as it appeared and disappeared.
My wife says she has heard similar sounds.
Any other opinions?

I recall reading somewhere that a high-pitched whine heard for only a few seconds before fading away was caused by the death (apoptosis) of one of the tiny hairs in your inner ear (cochlear cilia) which transmit soundwaves to sensory cells.

I’d like to see Jamie Hyneman and Adam Savage take on the Taos Hum. If they can’t find evidence, at least try to recreatte the ELF that would cause it. Maybe document its existence…