What do really big online clothes retailers do with all the returns?

These big online clothes retailers must get humongous amounts of returns. What do they do with it? Many have returns for free, and so it is not uncommon to “order” say five pair of jeans, try them out, and send back four of them. (I wish I did it this time, I’m about to return a pair that didn’t fit.) But in any case, what happens to all the returns? How big a percent of the workforce deal only with returns? I get this “the universe never ends” feeling thinking about it. Help.

I don’t know about clothes, but as a truck driver, I used to collect small electrical and electronic items from a major department store’s warehouse and deliver them to a company that inspected them and re-packed them in original (supplied by the makers) packaging. They were then returned to the store. All of this must have cost a good deal of money, but clearly the store calculated that their free returns policy bought in enough new business to cover the costs. I imagine that something similar happens with garments.

I assume the online stores do what the brick and mortar stores do, put them back on the shelf. They’re supposed to be unused, the online stores probably get stuck with more obviously worn clothes than the brick and mortar stores because it’s not worth sending the clothes back again instead of just saying no at the return window.

In a B&M, if I try on several pairs of jeans in the fitting room and the clerk puts them back on the shelf, that is no different than if I take them home and then return them, and the same clerk puts them back on the same shelf.

If the labels have been cut off, that’s a different story. I’m assuming an online shipper accepts returns only with the original labels as intact as if they had been tried on in a fitting room.

QVC sells huge amounts of clothes online, with a 30-day no-questions-asked return policy, and frequently puts the returned clothes back into the pile to be resold.