What do you call this old style of microfilm reader?

The old kind that’s just a reader (well, frankly it’s just a magnifying glass and a light.) Doesn’t print, certainly doesn’t scan. Essentially they’re big cabinets where you put the film in on top where there’s a spool and a lens and a takeup reel and you scroll through it with a handle on the side; a light projects the film onto the inside back of the case. They’re really good for browsing through a lot of film. Work best in darker rooms. Very simple machines.

What specifically do you call those?

microfilm reader.

Microfiche? What Is Microfiche? (with pictures)

No, fiche is a media type.

I’m a periodicals librarian, I know my microfilm, but I’m trying to get us one of the old just-readers if I can because I think they’re so good for browsing. But I can’t quite figure out what you call that kind to differentiate it from all the other readers and reader/printers.

The people who sell them call them microfilm readers, so there really is no way to differentiate between them and reader-printers in a search.

I think they’re just called microfilm readers. I used them years ago to look at census records. I think most of the LDS centers still have them to look at films sent from Salt Lake City for genealogy. Maybe one near you would have an old one, if not, at least they’d know where to get one.

Unless of course someone has categorized things for you. These guys have a category for “film/fiche viewers” even thought the products within are still microfim readers: Discount Microfilm, Microfiche and Aperture Card Readers / Veiwers

I wasn’t aware that there were any other types. Are you just saying that you want one with “no frills” (like the ability to print a page), or are there ones that work quite differently?