What do you think of artichoke hearts? (Just tried them for the first time yesterday...I like them)

So this food box we got two days ago had two things in it that I have never tried before, but had always been curious to: Artichoke hearts and hummus. I tried both and find I like both, the artichoke hearts especially.

What do you think of them? Do you like them or no?

I like artichoke hearts. I always throw in one or two at the olive bar. But they’re not up at the top of the list like dolmades or oil-cured olives or balsamic onions.

Not only do I like them, I know several ways to prepare them. I know a darned good vegetarian stew, with saffron, artichoke hearts, different kind of peppers, chick peas, and olives. It has several other spices, and a few other ingredients.

Another very different recipe is fettuccine, or linguini, feta cheese, black pepper, and marinated artichoke hearts. The marinade is made from olive oil, balsamic vinigar, pepperoncinis, sauteed onions, and a few seasonings. You let them soak overnight. It’s served at room temperature, or cold.

You can also boil artichokes whole, and serve them with melted butter that has a few drops of lemon juice in it. People pluck the leaves off, dip the “heart” end in the butter, and bite it off. Once you have just the heart left, you can cut the good bits off, and dip them on your fork in the butter.

You need to have very small bowls, or egg cups, or individual sauce cups of some kind (a lot of place settings come with little condiment bowls as an option now), so people at a table each have their own. Otherwise, people are dribbling butter across the table, and you run the risk of a double-dipper.

I also have a very good hummus recipe, but you really need either a very good mixer, or a food processor. Canned blended chick peas are tasteless. You really need to buy them whole and puree them yourself.

Are you talking about artichoke hearts that are canned? Bottled? Prepared fresh?