What does everybody else know that I don't?

OK, this is probably going to be long, whiny and rambling. So, apologies in advance.

For quite some time now I’ve realised that my life has been somewhat…lacking. It’s getting to the point where I am becoming increasingly concerned about my situation and at times I feel just plain old despondent. I feel like I’m drifting, that I’m becoming disconnected from humanity.

Some background information: I am 22 and male. I am a computer science graduate. I currently live at home and work for my dad. I am an atheist and an introvert.

Firstly, university was quite a disappointing experience for me. While I made friends and got drunk and had one night stands and got a decent degree, I look back and feel underwhelmed. Sitting in the pub with my mates and hearing them talk about the great experiences they had, it seems like my three years were just OK. I didn’t make that many friends, I didn’t have that much sex, I didn’t do as many things, period. So, that’s pretty much a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that I wasted through my own inaction and shyness. I mean, who doesn’t enjoy college? I didn’t go to graduation. None of my friends were graduating that day and I didn’t want my parents seeing me standing around awkwardly.

Now, sex and relationships. I last had a girlfriend about two years ago. I last had sex just a few months less than that figure. So yeah, it’s been a dry spell, you could say. Fuck. I’m in my early twenties. This should be prime nookie time. I mean, everyone’s getting some, right? Right? The condom machines in the WCs. The naughty lingerie on the racks in the stores. The ‘How to please your man’ tips in the magazines. Nudge Nudge. Wink Wink. Average Joe is getting his dick wet because, hey, sex is something we all need and want and it’s fairly common.

Average fucking Joe. That’s all I want to be. I don’t want fame, fortune or glory. I just want to be happy. Why is everybody else so happy? What do they know?