"What does 'Insufficient Disk Space' mean?"

Somehow I’m having to do customer support in my current job, and I get an email with an error attached, saying ‘Insufficient Disk Space’, asking “What does this error mean?”.

It is literally the most clear and concise unambiguous error message in the entire history of computer science; past, present and future. When they make quantum computers that beam error messages into our cerebral cortexes, they will not be more clear.

How do I muster the willpower to answer this without diving into deep and insulting sarcasm? How do I not turn into that Jimmy Fallon IT character in SNL? Dammit Jim, I’m a software engineer, not a customer service representative!

Thank god somebody else who got the email answered it, and thus saved my job.

Well, I imagine there are more than a few poor souls who don’t know what a “disk” is. Have mercy and cut them some slack. At least they didn’t ask why the computer wouldn’t come on only to find out it wasn’t plugged in or something. :slight_smile:

It’s only clear, concise and unambiguous if you know what “insufficient” and “disk” and “space” mean.

:slight_smile:

What it is supposed to mean is one thing, what’s actually going on and how to solve it can be a very different one.

I recently had a drive with 1/4 Tb free giving that message. I could move files in and out of it manually, but if I tried to install anything, no matter how small, up popped the “insufficient disk space” message. Once I figured out that the issue was a bad uninstall and manually deleted the corresponding folder, the drive got back to normal.

“You’re trying to jam 10 lbs of shit into a 5 lb bag.”

After all, a disk is something that’s circular and flat. When I look at my computer, I don’t see anything that looks like that.