What happened to public support for marijuana?

I wasn’t around in the 70s, so I have no first-hand knowledge of the subject… but what I’ve heard is that around 1977-1983, public support for legalization/use of marijuana was far higher than it is today. Jimmy Carter favored decriminalization. The reactions I’ve seen to “That 70s Show” are another clue - “Ha ha, their mom thought the bag was full of of oregano. There sure was a lot of pot smoking back in those days.”

Today, as evidenced by threads like this one, the situation is quite different. Even though there seems to be a lot of support online, in the real world you’re screwed if you even mention your belief that smoking marijuana on the weekend might not be harmful. A presidential candidate who supported legalization would have no chance of winning - look at Nader and Browne.

What happened to change public opinion so much?

Mods, I’m hoping this question has a factual answer, but feel free to move it if another forum is more appropriate.

It was a victim of the Reagan-era “War on Drugs.”

Crime rose steadily through much of that period, and one accepted explanation for crime was the need for drug abusers to finance their habits. Then cocaine (originally treated as a rather benign drug) picked up a lot of press regarding its nastier side effects and addictiveness. Shortly after that, crack was developed as a way to deliver cocaine more easily than as a powder and there were, originally, lurid tales that crack could cause total and irretrievable addiction with only one or two hits.